Roger Montti – Search Engine Journal SEO, Search Marketing News and Tutorials Mon, 16 May 2022 11:36:57 +0000 en-US hourly 1 Site Dependence On JavaScript A Problem For Googlebot? via @sejournal, @martinibuster /site-dependence-on-javascript-a-problem-for-googlebot/450296/ Mon, 16 May 2022 11:36:57 +0000 /site-dependence-on-javascript-a-problem-for-googlebot/450296/ Google's John Mueller answers question about the impact of JavaScript on Googlebot and recommends testing to find out what's really happening

The post Site Dependence On JavaScript A Problem For Googlebot? appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Edge Browser Will AI Improve All Web Images via @sejournal, @martinibuster /edge-browser-will-ai-improve-all-web-images/450350/ Mon, 16 May 2022 09:22:23 +0000 /edge-browser-will-ai-improve-all-web-images/450350/ Turing Image Super-Resolution will automatically turn website images into high resolution graphics for users of Edge browser

The post Edge Browser Will AI Improve All Web Images appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Successful Podcasters Share What Makes A Great Podcast Intro via @sejournal, @martinibuster /guide-to-podcast-intros/448132/ Fri, 13 May 2022 11:45:59 +0000 /guide-to-podcast-intros/448132/ The right intro sets the podcast on a path to success. Learn how you can set the stage for your audience with these seven tips.

The post Successful Podcasters Share What Makes A Great Podcast Intro appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google’s Chain of Thought Prompting Can Boost Today’s Best Algorithms via @sejournal, @martinibuster /google-chain-of-thought-prompting/450106/ Fri, 13 May 2022 09:23:13 +0000 /google-chain-of-thought-prompting/450106/ Google published details of a breakthrough technology that significantly improves Google's newest cutting edge algorithms

The post Google’s Chain of Thought Prompting Can Boost Today’s Best Algorithms appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Allows FAQ Structured Data for Non-FAQ Content via @sejournal, @martinibuster /google-allows-faq-markup-for-non-faq-content/450080/ Thu, 12 May 2022 21:55:29 +0000 /google-allows-faq-markup-for-non-faq-content/450080/ Google's John Mueller explains how to use FAQ structured data in everyday content that is not formatted as an FAQ

The post Google Allows FAQ Structured Data for Non-FAQ Content appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Updates Advice on How to Control Titles in Search Results via @sejournal, @martinibuster /google-shows-how-to-control-titles-in-search-results/449866/ Thu, 12 May 2022 09:35:08 +0000 /google-shows-how-to-control-titles-in-search-results/449866/ Updated support page adds a new troubleshooting section for helping diagnose why Google is rewriting title tags

The post Google Updates Advice on How to Control Titles in Search Results appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
PageSpeed Insights Adds New Lighthouse Speed Metrics via @sejournal, @martinibuster /google-lighthouse-page-speed-metrics/449842/ Thu, 12 May 2022 08:24:17 +0000 /google-lighthouse-page-speed-metrics/449842/ New metrics improve feedback on server-related speed and provides a more comprehensive representation of page performance than previously available

The post PageSpeed Insights Adds New Lighthouse Speed Metrics appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Why Keyword Research Is Useful For SEO & How To Rank via @sejournal, @martinibuster /seo-guide/why-keyword-research/ /seo-guide/why-keyword-research/#comments Thu, 12 May 2022 06:45:54 +0000 /seo-guide/why-keyword-research/ Expand the research process beyond search volume in order to keep up with how search engines rank content today. Here's how.

The post Why Keyword Research Is Useful For SEO & How To Rank appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
/seo-guide/why-keyword-research/feed/ 15
Google’s Digital Marketing Certificate Recommends Keyword Density Percentages via @sejournal, @martinibuster /googles-digital-marketing-certificate-recommends-keyword-density-percentages/449398/ Tue, 10 May 2022 09:17:43 +0000 /googles-digital-marketing-certificate-recommends-keyword-density-percentages/449398/ Google's Digital Marketing Training Course recommends a maximum 2% keyword density, a minimum word count and where to seed keywords on web pages

The post Google’s Digital Marketing Certificate Recommends Keyword Density Percentages appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Is Google Okay With Multiple Variations of the Same Content? via @sejournal, @martinibuster /is-google-okay-with-multiple-variations-of-the-same-content/449223/ Mon, 09 May 2022 10:17:57 +0000 /is-google-okay-with-multiple-variations-of-the-same-content/449223/ Google's Search Advocate John Mueller is asked if "plagiarizing" one's own content was okay. Mueller's response teaches a valuable lesson.

The post Is Google Okay With Multiple Variations of the Same Content? appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google: What to do About Spammy Links from “Malicious Domains” via @sejournal, @martinibuster /google-what-to-do-about-spammy-links-from-malicious-domains/449215/ Mon, 09 May 2022 09:17:34 +0000 /google-what-to-do-about-spammy-links-from-malicious-domains/449215/ Google's John Mueller answers a question about how to handle unwanted spammy backlinks

The post Google: What to do About Spammy Links from “Malicious Domains” appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Answers if Meta Description Matters for Rankings via @sejournal, @martinibuster /google-answers-if-meta-description-matters-for-rankings/449119/ Sat, 07 May 2022 03:58:05 +0000 /google-answers-if-meta-description-matters-for-rankings/449119/ Google's John Mueller answers if the Meta Description tag matters for ranking purposes

The post Google Answers if Meta Description Matters for Rankings appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Deprecates Some Image and Video Sitemap Extensions via @sejournal, @martinibuster /some-image-and-video-sitemap-extensions-deprecated/448986/ Fri, 06 May 2022 10:46:03 +0000 /some-image-and-video-sitemap-extensions-deprecated/448986/ Google announced that it is deprecating several image and video sitemap tags and attributes

The post Google Deprecates Some Image and Video Sitemap Extensions appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Updated Astra WordPress Theme Offers Stronger Performance via @sejournal, @martinibuster /astra-wordpress-theme-3-8-0/448969/ Fri, 06 May 2022 09:45:38 +0000 /astra-wordpress-theme-3-8-0/448969/ Astra WordPress theme, used by nearly 2 million websites, released a new version that delivers faster performance and many UI and design improvements

The post Updated Astra WordPress Theme Offers Stronger Performance appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
What Structured Data To Use And Where To Use It? via @sejournal, @martinibuster /what-structured-data-to-use-and-where-to-use-it/448767/ Thu, 05 May 2022 11:17:10 +0000 /what-structured-data-to-use-and-where-to-use-it/448767/ Google's John Mueller offers advice on how to choose structured data

The post What Structured Data To Use And Where To Use It? appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Why Do Core Web Vitals Scores Always Change? via @sejournal, @martinibuster /why-do-core-web-vitals-scores-always-change/448755/ Thu, 05 May 2022 09:17:42 +0000 /why-do-core-web-vitals-scores-always-change/448755/ Google's John Mueller answers why core web vitals scores seem to always change even when web pages remain the same

The post Why Do Core Web Vitals Scores Always Change? appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
New WordPress 6.0 Details Reveal Major Improvements via @sejournal, @martinibuster /new-details-of-wordpress-6-0-reveal-major-changes/448508/ Wed, 04 May 2022 09:45:39 +0000 /new-details-of-wordpress-6-0-reveal-major-changes/448508/ WordPress 6.0 takes big step toward fulfilling Gutenberg's promise to make WordPress easy to create websites and publish content

The post New WordPress 6.0 Details Reveal Major Improvements appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Technical Issues Usually Not a Trigger for Core Update Problems via @sejournal, @martinibuster /technical-issues-and-core-algorithm-updates/448465/ Wed, 04 May 2022 09:17:48 +0000 /technical-issues-and-core-algorithm-updates/448465/ Google's John Mueller answers if a technical site problem immediately preceding a core algorithm update could cause a loss of rankings

The post Technical Issues Usually Not a Trigger for Core Update Problems appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
HubSpot WordPress Plugin Vulnerability via @sejournal, @martinibuster /hubspot-wordpress-plugin-vulnerability/448322/ Tue, 03 May 2022 11:17:34 +0000 /hubspot-wordpress-plugin-vulnerability/448322/ HubSpot WordPress Plugin, used by over 200,000 publishers, patched a Server Side Request Forgery vulnerability

The post HubSpot WordPress Plugin Vulnerability appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Patent for Modifying Results Based on Generic Ratings via @sejournal, @martinibuster /google-patent-for-modifying-results-based-on-generic-ratings/448307/ Tue, 03 May 2022 10:17:11 +0000 /google-patent-for-modifying-results-based-on-generic-ratings/448307/ Google patent for showing content from around the world but modifying the search results based on generic ratings

The post Google Patent for Modifying Results Based on Generic Ratings appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>