Matt Southern – Search Engine Journal SEO, Search Marketing News and Tutorials Tue, 25 Jan 2022 17:12:26 +0000 en-US hourly 1 Google’s Core Web Vitals Badge Likely Won’t Happen via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /googles-core-web-vitals-badge-likely-wont-happen/435013/ Tue, 25 Jan 2022 17:12:26 +0000 /googles-core-web-vitals-badge-likely-wont-happen/435013/ Google says there are no plans for a Core Web Vitals badge in search results after proposing the idea when the metrics were first introduced.

The post Google’s Core Web Vitals Badge Likely Won’t Happen appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Are Contextual Links A Google Ranking Factor? via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /ranking-factors/contextual-links/ Sun, 23 Jan 2022 15:00:58 +0000 /ranking-factors/contextual-links/ Contextual links add value rather than being a distraction. But do you need them in order to rank? Discover the answer here.

The post Are Contextual Links A Google Ranking Factor? appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Says It’s Not Possible To Prevent Outages via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /google-says-its-not-possible-to-prevent-outages/434517/ Sun, 23 Jan 2022 05:30:06 +0000 /google-says-its-not-possible-to-prevent-outages/434517/ Google says it's impossible to prevent outages from happening, but the company is aiming to get better at alerting the community when issues are found.

The post Google Says It’s Not Possible To Prevent Outages appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Gives Sites More Indexing Control With New Robots Tag via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /google-indexifembedded-robots-tag/434396/ Fri, 21 Jan 2022 16:05:46 +0000 /google-indexifembedded-robots-tag/434396/ A new robots tag, called indexifembedded, lets websites give Google more direction over which content to index in search results.

The post Google Gives Sites More Indexing Control With New Robots Tag appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Considers Reducing Webpage Crawl Rate via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /google-crawl-rate/434265/ Fri, 21 Jan 2022 01:43:39 +0000 /google-crawl-rate/434265/ Google may reduce the frequency of crawling webpages as it grows more conscious of the sustainability of crawling and indexing.

The post Google Considers Reducing Webpage Crawl Rate appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Uses Different Algorithms For Different Languages via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /google-uses-different-algorithms-for-different-languages/434227/ Thu, 20 Jan 2022 20:53:47 +0000 /google-uses-different-algorithms-for-different-languages/434227/ Google uses the same search algorithms for most languages, but there are certain cases where a language requires a different algorithm to interpret the queries.

The post Google Uses Different Algorithms For Different Languages appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
LinkedIn Adds 3 New & Free Marketing Courses via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /linkedin-adds-3-new-free-marketing-courses/434126/ Thu, 20 Jan 2022 04:14:44 +0000 /linkedin-adds-3-new-free-marketing-courses/434126/ LinkedIn is adding three new courses to its free resource center where people can learn all about how to market themselves and their business.

The post LinkedIn Adds 3 New & Free Marketing Courses appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Instagram Subscriptions Let Creators Make Monthly Recurring Income via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /instagram-subscriptions/434117/ Wed, 19 Jan 2022 22:53:00 +0000 /instagram-subscriptions/434117/ Instagram is building on its monetization capabilities with a new subscriptions feature, which allows creators to make monthly recurring income.

The post Instagram Subscriptions Let Creators Make Monthly Recurring Income appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google: FAQ Schema Can Be Used On Select Questions via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /google-faq-schema/433937/ Wed, 19 Jan 2022 04:24:13 +0000 /google-faq-schema/433937/ Here's what Google advises regarding the use of FAQ markup on only select questions within a Q&A section.

The post Google: FAQ Schema Can Be Used On Select Questions appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Does Google Have A Problem With Big Robots.txt Files? via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /does-google-have-a-problem-with-big-robots-txt-files/433932/ Wed, 19 Jan 2022 01:13:15 +0000 /does-google-have-a-problem-with-big-robots-txt-files/433932/ Google addresses the subject of robots.txt files and whether it's a good SEO practice to keep them within a reasonable size.

The post Does Google Have A Problem With Big Robots.txt Files? appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google’s Advice For Targeting Multiple Locations With One Website via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /googles-advice-for-targeting-multiple-locations-with-one-website/433846/ Tue, 18 Jan 2022 19:05:13 +0000 /googles-advice-for-targeting-multiple-locations-with-one-website/433846/ Google provides detailed advice for websites that need to target multiple locations, such as a business with offices in different states.

The post Google’s Advice For Targeting Multiple Locations With One Website appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
How Does Google Search Use Synonyms? via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /how-does-google-search-use-synonyms/433700/ Tue, 18 Jan 2022 04:03:19 +0000 /how-does-google-search-use-synonyms/433700/ Google's Search Advocate John Mueller explains how the search engine uses synonyms and whether there's a human component to it.

The post How Does Google Search Use Synonyms? appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Search Console Updated With Page Experience Desktop Report via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /google-search-console-updated-with-page-experience-desktop-report/433450/ Mon, 17 Jan 2022 16:58:01 +0000 /google-search-console-updated-with-page-experience-desktop-report/433450/ Google Search Console has a new report dedicated to evaluating Page Experience criteria on the desktop versions of webpages.

The post Google Search Console Updated With Page Experience Desktop Report appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
How To Use Instagram Reels: A Step-By-Step Guide via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /instagram-reels/430673/ Mon, 17 Jan 2022 07:45:35 +0000 /instagram-reels/430673/ Instagram explains how it ranks the content people see when browsing through Reels, insights you can use to create more successful clips.

The post How To Use Instagram Reels: A Step-By-Step Guide appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
DuckDuckGo Growth Drops As It Celebrates Milestone via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /duckduckgo-reaches-100b-searches-but-growth-is-slowing-down/433267/ Mon, 17 Jan 2022 00:18:14 +0000 /duckduckgo-reaches-100b-searches-but-growth-is-slowing-down/433267/ DuckDuckGo celebrates a milestone of 100 billion total searches, but the search engine's year-over-year growth is slowing down.

The post DuckDuckGo Growth Drops As It Celebrates Milestone appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Link Velocity: Is It A Ranking Factor? via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /ranking-factors/link-velocity/ Sun, 16 Jan 2022 15:00:53 +0000 /ranking-factors/link-velocity/ Does link velocity matter? Let's have a look at its origins and see whether link velocity needs consideration in link building.

The post Link Velocity: Is It A Ranking Factor? appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Can Google’s Help Documents Be Trusted? via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /googles-help-documents-arent-always-up-to-date/433220/ Fri, 14 Jan 2022 21:19:57 +0000 /googles-help-documents-arent-always-up-to-date/433220/ Google admits its help documents aren't always up to date and says it's worthwhile doing your own research on recommended best practices.

The post Can Google’s Help Documents Be Trusted? appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
IndexNow Enables Data Sharing Between Search Engines via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /indexnow-enables-data-sharing-between-search-engines/432951/ Thu, 13 Jan 2022 17:30:47 +0000 /indexnow-enables-data-sharing-between-search-engines/432951/ Microsoft is making the IndexNow protocol easier to implement by ensuring submitted URLs are simultaneously shared between search engines.

The post IndexNow Enables Data Sharing Between Search Engines appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
LinkedIn Virtual Event Attendance Up 231% via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /linkedin-virtual-event-attendance-up-231/432801/ Thu, 13 Jan 2022 02:59:14 +0000 /linkedin-virtual-event-attendance-up-231/432801/ LinkedIn reports attendance for its virtual live events are up 231% year-over-year. Building on this success, LinkedIn is launching audio-only live events.

The post LinkedIn Virtual Event Attendance Up 231% appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Yoast SEO Offers Keyword Position Tracking With Wincher Integration via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern /yoast-seo-wincher/432685/ Wed, 12 Jan 2022 04:56:31 +0000 /yoast-seo-wincher/432685/ Yoast SEO is partnering with Wincher to offer users the ability to track keyword ranking positions for their WordPress pages.

The post Yoast SEO Offers Keyword Position Tracking With Wincher Integration appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>