Bill Slawski – Search Engine JournalSEO, Search Marketing News and TutorialsThu, 23 Sep 2021 16:27:36 +0000en-UShourly 1 How Autocomplete Works: The Patent Behind Google’s Query Completions via @sejournal, @bill_slawski/google-query-completions-patent/420520/Fri, 24 Sep 2021 11:45:27 +0000/google-query-completions-patent/420520/Learn about the query completion patent that helps Google predict the best autocomplete answers for a user's search query.

The post How Autocomplete Works: The Patent Behind Google’s Query Completions appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Patent Aims to Solve Searchers’ Need for Related Media Content via @sejournal, @bill_slawski/google-patent-related-entities-media/411542/Fri, 25 Jun 2021 13:45:44 +0000/google-patent-related-entities-media/411542/Learn about a Google patent that enables searchers to explore connections between related entities in different types of media.

The post Google Patent Aims to Solve Searchers’ Need for Related Media Content appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Patent: Rewriting Queries Based on Context to Meet Intent via @sejournal, @bill_slawski/google-patent-rewriting-queries-intent/400044/Fri, 26 Mar 2021 13:45:48 +0000/google-patent-rewriting-queries-intent/400044/A new patent from Google tells us how queries may be rewritten based on the context of those searches to better meet search intent.

The post Google Patent: Rewriting Queries Based on Context to Meet Intent appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
How Search Queries Trigger Structured Information Cards (Knowledge Panels) via @sejournal, @bill_slawski/queries-structured-information-cards/389002/Wed, 02 Dec 2020 14:45:17 +0000/queries-structured-information-cards/389002/A recently granted patent describes how Google may use queries to trigger structured information cards and how those queries can evolve over time.

The post How Search Queries Trigger Structured Information Cards (Knowledge Panels) appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
A Personalized Entity Repository in the Knowledge Graph via @sejournal, @bill_slawski/a-personalized-entity-repository-in-the-knowledge-graph/379043/Mon, 31 Aug 2020 14:45:50 +0000/a-personalized-entity-repository-in-the-knowledge-graph/379043/Google introduces a personalized entity repository, similar to a user-specific knowedge graph to predict actions and suggestions for users of Google.

The post A Personalized Entity Repository in the Knowledge Graph appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Ranked Entities in Search Results at Google via @sejournal, @bill_slawski/ranked-entities-google-search-results/372973/Mon, 29 Jun 2020 13:00:52 +0000/ranked-entities-google-search-results/372973/A recently approved Google patent sheds light on the search engine's process behind showing ranked lists of entities in the SERPs. Learn more here.

The post Ranked Entities in Search Results at Google appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Author Vectors: Google Knows Who Wrote Which Articles via @sejournal, @bill_slawski/author-vectors-google-knows-who-wrote-which-articles/357388/Mon, 30 Mar 2020 14:45:54 +0000/author-vectors-google-knows-who-wrote-which-articles/357388/Google's author vectors patent shows that they may be able to identify the authors of unlabeled content. Learn more here.

The post Author Vectors: Google Knows Who Wrote Which Articles appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
When Google SERPs May Undergo a Sea Change via @sejournal, @bill_slawski/when-google-serps-undergo-sea-change/327913/Mon, 30 Sep 2019 13:45:06 +0000/when-google-serps-undergo-sea-change/327913/A Google patent tells us when and how Google may decide upon adjusted search features.

The post When Google SERPs May Undergo a Sea Change appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google to Capture & Learn Our Emotions on a Smartphone Camera? via @sejournal, @bill_slawski/google-emotions-smartphone-camera/318237/Mon, 29 Jul 2019 12:45:51 +0000/google-emotions-smartphone-camera/318237/Google might use our emotional reactions to search results from our smartphone camera to influence the rankings of WebPages.

The post Google to Capture & Learn Our Emotions on a Smartphone Camera? appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Image Search Labels Becoming More Semantic? via @sejournal, @bill_slawski/google-image-search-labels-becoming-more-semantic/305157/Mon, 29 Apr 2019 12:45:08 +0000/google-image-search-labels-becoming-more-semantic/305157/Google Image Searches are associated with Entities, and those image labels may be associated with ontologies about those entities.

The post Google Image Search Labels Becoming More Semantic? appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>