Matt Southern – Search Engine JournalSEO, Search Marketing News and TutorialsSun, 24 Oct 2021 00:23:40 +0000en-UShourly 1 Why Is TikTok So Popular? via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/why-is-tiktok-so-popular/424603/Sun, 24 Oct 2021 00:22:20 +0000/why-is-tiktok-so-popular/424603/With one billion monthly active users, TikTok is in the upper echelon of social media apps. Not sure why it's so popular? Here's some data.

The post Why Is TikTok So Popular? appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Did YouTube Change Its Algorithm? No, It’s Seasonal Decline via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/did-youtube-change-its-algorithm/424581/Fri, 22 Oct 2021 21:54:49 +0000/did-youtube-change-its-algorithm/424581/Is your YouTube viewership down? You're not alone. It's normal for watch patterns to change around this time of year. The company explains why.

The post Did YouTube Change Its Algorithm? No, It’s Seasonal Decline appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Facebook Has New Communication Tools For Businesses via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/facebook-launches-audio-video-calls-for-businesses/424361/Fri, 22 Oct 2021 01:44:02 +0000/facebook-launches-audio-video-calls-for-businesses/424361/Facebook is rolling out a series of updates targeted at small businesses, including audio & video calls in Messenger, live audio rooms, and more.

The post Facebook Has New Communication Tools For Businesses appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
YouTube SEO: Auto Chapters Now A Source Of Metadata For Search via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/youtube-seo-auto-chapters-now-a-source-of-metadata-for-search/424266/Thu, 21 Oct 2021 08:09:07 +0000/youtube-seo-auto-chapters-now-a-source-of-metadata-for-search/424266/YouTube is now using automatically generated chapters as a source of metadata in search. Previously only manually defined chapters were used when ranking search results.

The post YouTube SEO: Auto Chapters Now A Source Of Metadata For Search appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Instagram Collabs: Team Up & Boost Engagement via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/instagram-collabs/424231/Wed, 20 Oct 2021 22:31:50 +0000/instagram-collabs/424231/Instagram is introducing a way for users to publish content together as a "collab." Engagement signals earned from the collab are shared between each user.

The post Instagram Collabs: Team Up & Boost Engagement appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Instagram Adds More Demographic Insights For Businesses via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/instagram-adds-more-demographic-insights-for-businesses/424088/Tue, 19 Oct 2021 21:02:58 +0000/instagram-adds-more-demographic-insights-for-businesses/424088/Instagram Insights now provides key demographic information about a business's engaged including top cities, top countries, top age ranges, and more.

The post Instagram Adds More Demographic Insights For Businesses appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Alerts Not Working, Here Are 3 Free Alternatives via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/google-alerts-not-working-here-are-3-free-alternatives/424031/Tue, 19 Oct 2021 17:45:57 +0000/google-alerts-not-working-here-are-3-free-alternatives/424031/Google Alerts is not working, the company advises. An issue has been identified that is in the process of being resolved. Here are some alternatives.

The post Google Alerts Not Working, Here Are 3 Free Alternatives appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Content Length: Is It a Google Ranking Factor? via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/ranking-factors/content-length/Sun, 17 Oct 2021 14:00:49 +0000/ranking-factors/content-length/Does a larger word count help with achieving higher search rankings on Google? Find out if it is a ranking factor here.

The post Content Length: Is It a Google Ranking Factor? appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Says Improve Content to Recover From Core Updates via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/google-says-improve-content-to-recover-from-core-updates/423461/Fri, 15 Oct 2021 03:11:50 +0000/google-says-improve-content-to-recover-from-core-updates/423461/Google's John Mueller says work on improving your website's content, rather than implementing technical fixes, when recovering from a broad core algorithm update.

The post Google Says Improve Content to Recover From Core Updates appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google on Separating Content By User Intent via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/google-on-separating-content-by-user-intent/423453/Thu, 14 Oct 2021 20:05:06 +0000/google-on-separating-content-by-user-intent/423453/Google explains what it means when it suggests separating content by user intent, such as one place for information-based content and another for transaction-based content.

The post Google on Separating Content By User Intent appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Mobile Search Updated With Continuous Scrolling via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/google-mobile-search-updated-with-continuous-scrolling/423380/Thu, 14 Oct 2021 16:00:59 +0000/google-mobile-search-updated-with-continuous-scrolling/423380/Google Search on mobile is getting updated with continuous scrolling, which will automatically populate more results when users scroll to the bottom of the page.

The post Google Mobile Search Updated With Continuous Scrolling appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google On Small Business SEO & How it’s Changing via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/google-on-small-business-seo-how-its-changing/423264/Thu, 14 Oct 2021 01:17:17 +0000/google-on-small-business-seo-how-its-changing/423264/Google's John Mueller suggests the way small businesses do SEO is changing in a way that industry experts aren't keeping up with.

The post Google On Small Business SEO & How it’s Changing appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google’s New Best Practices For Writing Page Titles via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/google-title-links/422926/Wed, 13 Oct 2021 01:27:09 +0000/google-title-links/422926/Google published updated best practices for writing page titles, which includes tips on how to prevent your titles from getting replaced in search results.

The post Google’s New Best Practices For Writing Page Titles appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Updates AMP, Mobile Friendly, and Rich Results Testing Tools via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/google-updates-amp-mobile-friendly-and-rich-results-testing-tools/422851/Tue, 12 Oct 2021 17:43:41 +0000/google-updates-amp-mobile-friendly-and-rich-results-testing-tools/422851/Google is updating the AMP, Mobile Friendly, and Rich Results testing tools in Search Console with features from the URL Inspection tool.

The post Google Updates AMP, Mobile Friendly, and Rich Results Testing Tools appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Canonicalization: Is It a Google Ranking Factor? via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/ranking-factors/canonicalization/Sun, 10 Oct 2021 14:00:48 +0000/ranking-factors/canonicalization/Canonicalization is confirmed to have a connection with search rankings, but is it a ranking factor? Find out here.

The post Canonicalization: Is It a Google Ranking Factor? appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google on Product Price As a Ranking Factor via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/google-on-product-price-as-a-ranking-factor/422500/Fri, 08 Oct 2021 23:24:53 +0000/google-on-product-price-as-a-ranking-factor/422500/Google's John Mueller discusses product price as a ranking factor and explains whether it can impact the positions of ecommerce stores in search results.

The post Google on Product Price As a Ranking Factor appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google is Developing ‘Big Moments’ Feature For Breaking News via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/google-is-developing-big-moments-feature-for-breaking-news/422491/Fri, 08 Oct 2021 20:29:06 +0000/google-is-developing-big-moments-feature-for-breaking-news/422491/Google is reportedly developing a new search feature called "Big Moments" to highlight important information about breaking news events in real-time.

The post Google is Developing ‘Big Moments’ Feature For Breaking News appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
YouTube Rolls Out Automatic Live Captions to All Channels via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/youtube-rolls-out-automatic-live-captions-to-all-channels/422473/Fri, 08 Oct 2021 16:15:44 +0000/youtube-rolls-out-automatic-live-captions-to-all-channels/422473/YouTube is rolling out a series of updates to make content more accessible, which includes bringing automatic live captions to all channels.

The post YouTube Rolls Out Automatic Live Captions to All Channels appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Search Console Adds More Detail to Error Reports via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/google-search-console-adds-more-detail-to-error-reports/422403/Thu, 07 Oct 2021 20:37:58 +0000/google-search-console-adds-more-detail-to-error-reports/422403/Google is adding more detail to Search Console reports in an effort to assist SEOs with resolving rich results errors.

The post Google Search Console Adds More Detail to Error Reports appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>
Google Halloween Search Trends For 2021 via @sejournal, @MattGSouthern/google-halloween-search-trends-for-2021/422366/Thu, 07 Oct 2021 15:56:34 +0000/google-halloween-search-trends-for-2021/422366/Google shares data about the top trending Halloween-related searches this year, such as most popular costumes, top haunted house locations in Maps, and more.

The post Google Halloween Search Trends For 2021 appeared first on Search Engine Journal.

]]>